Whitfield House was built by Ambroise Begnaud around 1910. After only a couple of years, Mr. Begnaud sold the house to Blanchard Whitfield. The house remained in the Whitfield family for eighty-six years, and it was a well-recognized French Creole landmark on Moss Street at 401 Sophie Street for most of the 20th century. It was known as “the Whitfield farmhouse behind N. P. Moss School”. During recovery efforts from the devastating Mississippi River flood of 1927, the house was used as a shelter and a field hospital. In 1998 the house was moved to prepare the Moss Street property for a low-income housing development. Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Young moved this historic gem to its present location on Failla Road.