Carver House

Carver House

Built 1929
114 Florida Court
Lafayette Historic Register Number 069
Designated: June 15, 2006

Carver House is one of the four original houses built in Arbolada Subdivision. It was named for the original homeowner, Mrs. C. Ralph Carver, who was the sister of Dr. L. O. Clark. Clark was one of the four developers of the subdivision, whose house is featured in this book on page 34. The style of the house resembles the picturesque look of an old-world European cottage, consistent with the developer’s vision. Arbolada is Lafayette’s first development that was designed to create a sense of “place”. Although the original theme was Spanish Colonial Revival, all Colonial Revivalism styles were accepted. Spanish street names, a fountain at the entrance, streets lined with palm trees and neighborhood restrictions were intended to enhance the romantic look of the subdivision. Five years after Arbolada property was purchased for development, the Great Depression hindered real estate sales throughout the country. As a result, it took a few decades for the lots in Arbolada to sell. Today, only four houses remain true to the original vision of Arbolada’s developers. These houses are Carver House, Cunningham House, Dr. Louis B. Long House, and L. O. Clark House.

 

 

No Comments

Post A Comment